Local Football Coach Awarded MBE

Leroy Richards the founder of the football soccer school ‘Football Futures’ in Kingstanding has been awarded with an MBE for services to community cohesion in the West Midlands. The news follows on from Leroy’s nomination for ITV Pride of Britain Awards last year where he reached the final four.

On the MBE, Leroy said:

“I’m still in shock, I must have read the letter a million times looking for a mistake.
If you’d told me when I came out of prison that I’d receive an MBE I would have laughed”.

Leroy set up Football Futures in 2001, originally held at Cooksey Lane before being forced to move to Burfurd Road Playing Fields after being kicked out by a local association. He has since moved permanently to Cardinal Wiseman School where the weekly Saturday football mornings are now held.

In March 2010 he set up a new venture Community Fusion where he is Managing Director.

Having been coached by Leroy several years ago I can not speak highly enough of him. His passion and enthusiasm is unlike anyone else’s that I’ve known. He is without doubt the best football coach I have worked with, and in my eyes his MBE is highly deserved. ‘The B44’ Blog would like to offer our congratulations to Leroy for his award and hope that he enjoys his day out at the Palace.

To see an ITV Central News clip about Leroy to see the work that he gets up to then click here.

Football Futures Soccer Schools are held on Saturdays 10am-12pm at:
Cardinal Wismen School,
Old Oscott Hill,
Kingstanding,
B44 9SR

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Local Football Coach Awarded MBE

  1. ianrobo says:

    good for Leroy, well deserved honour

  2. aidan healing says:

    hi ! its me aidan healing from hamstead junior school do you want to sign me ? my parents said yes

Leave a Reply

